Lee Ritenour "Overtime"

Lee Ritenour "Overtime"


Lee Ritenour
The Story
One of the world's most renowned Jazz guitarists, Lee Ritenour began his career backing up the likes of The Mamas and The Papas, Tony Bennett, and more. His website declares that he has over 3,000 studio sessions to his credit, with such groups as Steely Dan, Pink Floyd, and Dizzy Gillespie. Since 1976, he has been recording as a solo artist, with over 30 albums to his credit.

Lee Ritenour's new DVD is entitled "Overtime", and is 2 1/2 hours long with nineteen songs covering his music from the '70s to the present day. Musically, it covers four distinct areas starting out with acoustic jazz and moving into Brazilian music with Ivan Lins. The second half continues with Lee's early music from his fusion days at The Baked Potato including the original band of Dave Grusin, Patrice Rushen, Anthony Jackson, Harvey Mason, Ernie Watts and Steve Foreman. The DVD concludes with many of his most popular songs from the '80s to 2004 including songs from "WestBound" and "Twist of Motown." Two of the guest artists featured in this section are Chris Botti and Eric Marienthal. There are also 2 new songs on the DVD, one of which is a new single with vocalist Kenya Hathaway.

Musicians on the 2-disc "Overtime" DVD include Dave Grusin, Patrice Rushen, Ivan Lins, Chris Botti, Ernie Watts, Harvey Mason, Eric Marienthal, Alex Acuna, Anthony Jackson, Melvin Davis, Oscar Seaton, Barnaby Finch, Kenya Hathaway, Grady Harrell, Dave Carpenter, and Steve Foreman.

Special DVD features include: Widescreen Presentation, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound, PCM Stereo.

Additional Facts
The DVD includes the songs "Party Time", "Blue In Green", "Mizrab", "Sugarloaf Express", "Harlequin", "Beyond The Storm", "Dinorah Dinorah", "P.A.L.S.", "Captain Fingers", "Morning Glory", "Captain Caribe", "Night Rhythms", "A Little Bumpin'", "Water To Drink", "Possibilities", "Papa Was A Rolling Stone", "Is It You?", "Thirteen" and "She Walks This Earth".