Robben Ford "Robben Ford & The Blue Line"

Robben Ford "Robben Ford & The Blue Line"

album cover

Robben Ford
Robben Ford & The Blue Line
The Story
Reviewer Douglas D. Keller writes, ""Robben Ford & The Blue Line" is a focused blues-rock album powered by Ford's strong and distinctive guitar. His guitar work is reminiscent of Stevie Ray Vaughn, but with a more polished tone. The album moves from smooth blues to pumping intensity, sometimes within a song, as in "You Cut Me to the Bone." It contains seven new tracks written by Robben Ford and two covers -- John Hiatt's "I'm a Real Man," and Otis Rush's "My Love Will Never Die." All of the tracks feature Ford's guitar, Blue Line bassist Roscoe Beck and drummer Tom Brechtlein. The first track on the album, "The Brother," is dedicated to Jimmie and Stevie. Ford proves himself adept at composing songs which are singularly bluesy, such as "Tell Me I'm Your Man," a smooth pick-up song . But tracks such as "Step On It" are filled with an explosive intensity which at times reminded me of Joe Satriani."
The Music
04:41 The Brother Instrumental
04:47 You Cut Me To The Bone Vocal
05:29 I'm A Real Man Vocal
05:26 My Love Will Never Die Vocal
05:56 Step On It Instrumental
04:24 Prison Of Love Vocal
06:12 Tell Me I'm Your Man Vocal
03:45 Start It Up Vocal
07:33 Life Song Instrumental
The Artists
Robben Ford Guitar, Vocals, Production, Arrangement
Tom Brechtlein Drums, Clean Sneakers
Roscoe Beck Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass, Production
Russell Ferrante Keyboards
Bill Boublitz Keyboards
Bob Malach Saxophone, Arrangement
Dan Fornero Trumpet, Arrangement
Walter New Engineering, Mixing
Mark Ford Harmonica
William Smith Keyboards
Jeff Sheehan Engineering Assistance, Additional Engineering
Chick Corea Executive Production
Ron Moss Executive Production
Joel Strate Executive Production Assistance
Evelyn Brechtlein Stretch Production Coordination
Bernie Grundman Mastering
Robert Read Engineering Assistance
Darren Mora Engineering Assistance
Paul duGre Engineering
Michael Landy Post-Production
Joseph Doughney Post-Production
Adam Zelinka Post-Production
Michael Pollard GRP Production Coordination
Doreen Kalcich GRP Production Coordination Assistance
Guy Webster Photography
Ladye Eugenia Stewart Photographic Assistance
Michael Manoogian Art Direction, Graphic Design
Dan Serrano Graphic Design
David Gibb Graphic Design
Andy Ruggirello Graphic Design
Scott Johnson Graphic Design
Sonny Mediana Graphic Design
Andy Baltimore GRP Creative Direction
Recorded at Sound City Studios, Van Nuys, CA.

Mixed at Mad Hatter Studios, Los Angeles, CA.

"The Brother" and "Prison Of Love" recorded at Paul & Mike's Studio, Los Angeles, CA.

Post-production performed at The Review Room, NYC. Post-production monitoring performed using Acoustic Energy AE1 speakers courtesy of Panor Corporation, Hauppauge, NY.

Mastered at Bernie Grundman Mastering, Hollywood.

Grooming by Beverley George.